Photograph by: Wayne Holtzhausen
Photography by: Wayne Holtzhausen
 
Transport Museum
Newsletter
Picture Gallery
Enquiries
Note:
  The Outeniqua Chootjoe Train is no longer in service since the 2006 flood damage


Visit the Museum for a interesteing journey down memory lane.

 
Visit the Outeniqua Transport Museum 

The Choo Tjoe used to offer passengers a unique, picturesque and scenic 52-kilometre journey experiencing the Garden Route with spectacular views of the Indian Ocean before flood damage rendered the line un-usable in 2006. 

The George / Mossel Bay line was officially opened by Sir Pieter Fraure on 25 September 1907 and was operated by the Cape Government Railways (CGR) by the New Cape Central railway (NCCR) until the railway line was completed as far as Oudtshoorn in 1913. 
The railway initially traverses mainly agricultural land used for grazing. Two major rivers are crossed. These are the Gwaiing and Malgate rivers. After crossing the Gwaiing River the railway climbs towards the siding of Skimmelkrans. After Skimmelkrans the railway winds its way for 4 kms into the Malgate Valley. 


 

The railway crosses the Malgate River high above the river where large roundish holes can be seen in the rock of the riverbed. These holes are the result of floodwater rolling stones over and over in the depressions causing gradual, but noticeable erosion.

From Outeniqua the line begins its descendant to the sea. As the train twists around a large horseshoe bend, the hillsides fall dramatically towards the sea. The first seaside resort to come into view would be Glentana.

The view of the Indian Ocean with its foaming waves crashing on to the seemingly endless beach, is breath taking. The train plunges into a deep cutting and then snakes through the only tunnel on the line. Emerging again into the sunlight, passengers used to have an awesome vista, which stretches away to the St Blaze lighthouse to the south of Mossel Bay.
 
 At Great Brak River the original corrugated-iron station building, erected by the Cape Government Railways, still stands. Crossing the Great Brak River just after the station, one can see the remains of the supports for the original railway bridge. During construction of the line in 1906, a temporary wooden bridge was built over the river. There was great drama on one occasion when the bridge collapsed and a locomotive fell into the river.
After Hartenbos station the Voorbay marshalling yard and railway workshops are passed. In these workshops the steam locomotives, that haul the Outeniqua Choo Tjoe, are maintained.


  
Brought to you by:

  

Enquiries Picture Gallery

 

   

2000-2013, Designed and Sponsored by Online Sources Corporation